on mother’s day

DSC_0728 DSC_0729 DSC_0731 DSC_0735 DSC_0738

I didn’t spend the entire day with these goof balls.  Funny, how on the day you are suppose to be celebrating motherhood my only request was for uninterrupted time.  I am certain that will change as parenthood changes with the ages of babes.  But this year, not having to get up at 5:50 AM and being allowed to catch up on a few episodes of “Call the Midwife” was pretty nice indeed.  My breakfast tray was scoured upon arrival and I had to give all my strawberries to a very forceful almost two year old (he really is so very bossy).

Even though a gal can want a few moments to herself once in awhile, I am forever blessed and grateful for those three little buggers in those pictures.  They have made life more meaningful, more fun, more full of love and laughter.  We laugh every single day.  We (usually one of the younger two) cry every day and grow frustrated every day.  I wouldn’t change it for anything.  When I was younger I never put much thought into being a mother.  I figured I would do it and that would be that.  I really had no idea the impact that day in February 2008 would have on my life.  Raising these boys has been the greatest adventure.  I have the greatest partner.  The guy who took all the poopy diapers and bum wipings on Sunday (and most Sundays when I think about it…) and the guy who wrangles these munchkins so their mama can lounge.  I do believe the same request was asked for by him for the upcoming holiday in June, but I am sure that can be arranged.

My sweet boys, thank you for making me a Mama.  I am in awe at how fast it goes- I promise to soak it all in.

Happy belated Mother’s Day to all mothers!  We are all so lucky.

 

Leave a Reply

